Composition Commission issued to Luke Bedford

Arcis Saxophon Quartett GbR, Erding, Germany


As part of the German Symphony Orchestra (Deutsches Symphonie Orchester Berlin – DSO) series entitled “Debüt im Deutschland Radio Kultur” the ensemble members of the Arcis Saxophon Quartett will be offered the opportunity to perform as soloists of the evening, together with one of the largest German orchestras at Berlin’s Philharmonic Hall. Given that the saxophone as a relatively young instrument does not boast a particularly large repertoire of concert literature a composition commission was issued that is to be supported by the EvS Music Foundation. Boasting an expressive lyrical style that immediately appeals to the listener, British composer Luke Bedford plans to write a concerto for saxophone quartet and orchestra; through this he will help the saxophone reach a large interested audience by making another key addition to New Music’s repertoire.


October 18, 2017
Berliner Philharmonie, Berlin

Further Information