Composition commission issued to Arnulf Hermann

Ensemble Intercontemporain, Paris, France

With the support of the Ernst von Siemens music Foundation, the Ensemble intercontemporain has commissioned a new score to the German
composer Arnulf Hermann, winner of the “Ernst von Siemens Music Prize 2010” that will be performed by the musicians of the Ensemble for the world Premiere in October 2013 in Paris. The Ensemble intercontemporain is a formation of 31 soloists devoted to interpreting and performing music from the 20th century to the current time. For over 30 years, this permanent ensemble has been putting their talents at the service of a demanding repertory reflecting a broad pallet of musical styles. United by a shared passion for original pieces, the Ensemble’s soloists explore with composers new musical territories, nourished by inventions (new instrumental techniques and ways of playing, electronic music, etc.) and encounters with other forms of artistic expression such as dance, theatre, cinema, video and the plastic arts. More than 500 works have been premiered over the past 35 years, of which many are now part of the global musical heritage.

October 2013
Cité de la Musique, Paris, France

Further Information: