Münchner Rundfunkorchester


Composition commission issued to Manfred Trojahn

Richard-Strauss-Institut, Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany

To mark the 150th birthday of Richard Strauss on June 11, 2014, the Richard Strauss Festival in Garmisch-Partenkirchen will, with the support of the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation, be issuing a composition commission to Manfred Trojahn. The new work for orchestra and singing voice will premiere on June 18, 2014, as part of the Richard Strauss Festival, to be performed by Bayerischer Rundfunk’s Radio Orchestra under the baton of Ulf Schirmer. The new composition will be juxtaposed with early orchestral works by Richard Strauss. In his work Manfred Trojahn follows on from musical traditions, in particular from the musical Modern Age around 1900, while not obscuring the developments of the 20th century. A feature of this is also his compositional exploration of Richard Strauss’ work which Trojahn has subscribed to on repeated occasions.

June 18, 2014
Kongresshaus Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany

Further Information: