Karlheinz Stockhausen Volume III

Schott Music GmbH & Co.Kg, Mainz, Germany

Already two volumes on the great composer and pioneer of contemporary music have come from the pen of author and Stockhausen connoisseur Rudolf Frisius: Einführung in das Gesamtwerk – Gespräche (1996) and Die Werke 1950–1977 (2008). Now with the support of the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation Volume III has been published. This monograph is primarily devoted to Stockhausen’s completed work cycle, LICHT, as well as to the KLANG cycle that only exists as a fragment – each hour of the day here is allocated to a piece of chamber music. The volume describes the work on the basis of discussions and visits to seminars, lectures, rehearsals and concerts spanning many years and thereby successfully rounds off the two previous monographs focusing on Stockhausen. 

December 2010–October 2013 
Mainz, Germany 

Further Information: