Photo: Mara Eggert


Composition Commission an Moritz Eggert

notabu.ensemble neue musik, Düsseldorf, Germany

The idea for the notabu.ensemble neue musik project came out of a desideratum: Octandre (1923) by Edgar Varèse is one of the early milestones in New Music. However, there are scarcely any other pieces in the same line-up: flute/piccolo flute, oboe, B-clarinet/E-flat clarinet, bassoon, trumpet, tenor trombone and double bass. The ensemble issued to Moritz Eggert a composition commission supported by the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation for a work in the same line-up that can be combined henceforth with Octandre. By choosing Eggert the ensemble opted for a composer who has an informal relationship with tradition and whose style is able to combine the intellectual with the entertaining. The project means collaboration is to be initiated with the Spektra Ensemble Ghent which will also be continued in the future.


June 5, 2015
Muziekcentrum, Ghent

June 7, 2015
Tonhalle Düsseldorf

Further Information: