Society of Friends and Supporters of the Freiburg Baroque Orchestra

In 2011 Cologne Philharmonic Orchestra will be celebrating its 25th anniversary. To mark the occasion Brice Pauset composed KONTRA-KONZERT which will be premiered with the support of the EvS Music Foundation by the Freiburg Baroque Orchestra featuring Andreas Staier as a soloist  on September 18th 2011. Following the Cologne premiere the concert will then go to Berlin, Freiburg, Dijon and Stuttgart. Pauset’s piano concerto displays an immediate reference to Beethoven’s 4th Piano Concerto. For Pauset it represents the “vanishing point” of his own work. Beethoven’s work seems a suitable reference to the composer “with its incomparable musical qualities but also even with its formal structure, that generous use of exceptions,” explains Pauset. At the center of the juxtaposition is not only the relationship between the soloist and the orchestra but also the one between modern music culture and Beethoven’s rediscovery through the sounds and articulations of 19th century Vienna. For his KONTRA-KONZERT Pauset takes up the orchestration of Beethoven’s 4th Piano Concerto but also adds 3 percussion parts to it. 

September 18th 2011

October 20th 2011

October 21st 2011

October 22nd 2011 

October 23rd 2011

Further Information: