Masterworks by Rihm, Lachenmann, Furrer and Haas

Sound Icon, Boston, USA

Sound Icon is a new sinfonietta-sized ensemble in Boston that is dedicated to balancing the existing scene in Boston with progressive contemporary masterworks from influential European composers. With the support of the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation, this season Sound Icon will bring masterworks of Austrian and German composers to Boston. The three concerts will present works by Wolfgang Rihm, Helmut Lachenmann, Beat Furrer, and Georg Friedrich Haas. By choosing these artists, Sound Icon will be able to present not only a wide range, but also opposite poles of German and Austrian contemporary music. The performed masterworks will include Wolfgang Rihm’s hour-long work “Concerto Séraphin” as a US premiere. The juxtaposition of Beat Furrer’s “Nuun” and “Narcissus” fragments and Helmut Lachenmann’s “… zwei Gefühle …” spark a valuable dialogue between soloist and ensemble, text and context, as well as content and concept. In addition to these compositions, Sound Icon will perform Haas’ groundbreaking work of music theater “In Vain”, an evening-length work for ensemble and light, where passages are heard in full darkness and in bright flashes of light.

November 5th, 2011, Boston University, USA
February 3rd, 2012, Institute of Contemporary Art, Boston, USA
February 25th, 2012, Boston University, USA

Further Information: