Award Ceremony for the 2018 Ernst von Siemens Music Prize

On 3 May 20178, the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation will be honoring the Swiss-Austrian composer and conductor with the Ernst von Siemens Music Price. Michael Krüger, Chairman of the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation’s Board of Supervisors and President of the Bavarian Academy of Fine Arts, is presenting the award during a musical ceremony at the Prinzregententheater in Munich.

Italian Clara Iannotta, Timothy McCormack from the US and Catalan Oriol Saladrigues will be awarded the 2018 Composer’s Prizes.

The laudatory speech will be held by Thomas Macho, director of the International Research Centre for Cultural Science, Vienna.

Klangforum Wien will perform Furrer’s canti della tenebra (2014) together with mezzosoprano Tanja Ariane Baumgartner as well as Clara Iannottas troglodyte angels clank by (2015), an extract from McCormacks karst survey (2016) and Saladrigues‘ eigens new piece tempo sospeso (2018 | WP).

Thanks to a cooperation between Broadcaster Bayerischer Rundfunk and Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation you can watch the whole ceremony on and