Photo: Marc Doradzillo


Five Composition Commissions

Trio Accanto, Basel, Switzerland


The aim of the composition commissions issued by the Trio Accanto with the support of the EvS Music Foundation is to extend the repertoire of the saxophone, piano and percussion line-up. Five composition commissions will be awarded to the composers Evan Johnson, Marco Momi, Misato Mochizuki, Michael Finnissy and Christian Wolff. Each of the five composers from the most varied backgrounds and generations speaks their own musical language. However, all of them are composers of outstanding chamber music. For all of them pure acoustic music is centerstage thanks to their great knowledge of the instruments. It is only with Marco Momi that the media-defined, mostly electronic extension to the pure instrumental sound forms part of his musical reflection.


Several concerts are planned in 2017 and 2018.


Further Information