Photo: Jörg Hejkal


Six Composition Commissions

ACHT BRÜCKEN | Music for Cologne, Germany

ACHT BRÜCKEN | Music for Cologne has been an annual festival of contemporary music since 2011. For approximately 10 days at the beginning of May, Cologne turns into a festival town with concerts not only in the best venues but also in many unexpected locations, presenting the exciting variety of contemporary music within many different genres, all pulled together under a common theme.The 2019 festival will make the town itself its theme, as all the concerts which are not happening in traditional concert venues will be given an equal footing. The festival thus doesn’t just take place in the Philharmonie, in Funkhaus Wallrafplatz and in local churches, but also in two clubs (built into railway arches), in the city’s central pedestrian zone, in the metro station Heumarkt, in an adventure and skate-park in Köln-Kalk, in a former bunker in Köln-Mühlheim (Kulturbunker) and on a Rhine ferry. Having already dedicated itself to the portrayal of composers such as Unsuk Chin, Iannis Xennakis, Galina Ustwolskaja, Louis Andriessen and Pierre Boulez, ACHT BRÜCKEN this year celebrates the French-Greek composer, Georges Aperghis (*1945). In addition to the commission given to Aperghis, the EvS Music Foundation is supporting commissions to Alberto Posadas, Rebecca Saunders Yin Wangs, Sergej Newski and to Michel van der Aa.

1st–9th May 2019
Philharmonie, Trinitatiskirche, Klaus-von-Bismarck Saal, Cologne, Germany

Further information: