Delian Academy for New Music 2018

The Delian Academy for New Music is an international summer academy for composers and sound artists under the auspices of Georges Aperghis and the Grypario Cultural Centre on the island of Mykonos. Supported by the EvS Music Foundation the summer academy is one of the few international events of this kind held in Greece.
Ahead of the academy as part of an application phase launched internationally the best participants for the three possible categories (composers of electronic or acoustic music as well as guest auditors) will be selected initially by a jury – consisting of Georges Aperghis, Michael Finnissy, Ellainie Lillios, Dimitri Papageorgiou, Alexandros Spyrou as well as the two Ensembles-in-Residence Trio Accanto and Ensemble Zone Expérimentale.
The 2018 summer academy will initially begin with a two-day conference and presentations by the composers Michael Finnissy, Ellainie Lillios and Dimitri Papageorgiou that will serve as a forum for participants to exchange ideas on aesthetic questions. Following this, after rehearsal phases, lectures and master classes, four concerts will be held. There will also be the option of experimental collaboration among participating composers and the pianist Jana Luksts; the results will be presented and also recorded in a performance. The repertoire of the concerts at the academy ranges from works by Aperghis or Finnissy through to new pieces by the participants at last year’s academy such as lican Camci and Hunjoo Jung. These will each be performed by the Ensembles-in-Residence Trio Accanto and Zone Expérimentale. A particular aim here of the summer academy is also to regularly maintain the further development of its alumni.

June 8 – 17, 2018

Further Information