Composition Commission issued to Alberto Posadas

Sigma Project, San Lorenzo de El Escorial, Spain


For several years now the Sigma Project has been working continually to extend the repertoire for saxophone quartet. With the support of the EvS Music Foundation it is now issuing the commission of three new works to Alberto Posadas for this purpose. Posadas is one of the most innovative Spanish composers of his time.

The interest of composers in the saxophone stems from the fact that it is possible to incorporate very new techniques in works for this instrument. Posadas will sound out the entire breadth of the saxophone family, from the bass to the sopranino. By doing so he wishes to give the instrument a new image and establish it in the field of chamber music.

The three works are therefore attuned to each other but can each also be performed separately. Each piece has its own character although some commonalities run through the entire cycle as leitmotifs. A very simple staging is planned here arising from the dramaturgy of the sound.

The aim of the project is to establish the instrument more strongly on the international New Music scene and at key festivals.


July 9, 2016
Festival Format-Raisins, Frankreich

Oktober 10, 2016
University of New Mexiko

Oktober 12, 2016
Internationales Forum Neue Musik Manuel Enríques, Mexiko

VIII Ciclo de Música Actual de Badajoz
XLIV Festival Internacional Cervantino, Guanajuato

November 12, 2016
Musical Craiova International Festival, Rumänien

February 2017

March 2017
Ciclo BBVA de Bilbao

April 2017
Teatro Central de Seville

June 2017
Colegio Nacional, Mexico City

October 2017
Quincena Musical de San Sebastián, Donostia-San Sebastián

October 2017
IX Ciclo de Música Actual de Badajoz


Further Information