Composition Commission issued to Chiyoko Slavnics

Konus Quartett, Uetendorf, Switzerland

The aesthetic notions of composer Chiyoko Slavnics tie in very well with the approach of the Konus Quartet. For this reason the musicians decided to issue a composition commission to the composer with the support of the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation. The quartet finds Slavnics’ work with reduced material, her interest in sustained sounds, interferences and tonal colors very consistent and compelling. With an orchestra or chamber music formation she manages to produce a new kind of overall sound that lets the listener forget what kind of instruments are being played. The quartet is constantly in search of precisely this kind of new approach to expand its repertoire.


October 30, 2015
Dampfzentrale Bern, Switzerland

Further Information: