Photo: Marie Nicholas


Composition Commissions issued to Johannes Schöllhorn and Yoav Pasovsky

Zafraan Ensemble e.V., Berlin, Germany


Jointly the Zafraan Ensemble and conductor Manuel Nawri are developing a concert program with composers Johannes Schöllhorn and Yoav Pasovsky that reexamines the role of the composer and the genesis process involved in writing a piece of work. Serving as inspiration here are the working methods of fine art. Therefore, both composers move within “screen print variations” in compositional terms, not only in the field of the formal design process – as they also become the developers of their own dynamic tools.
For the concert program which is to be performed as part of festivals, series and special events in Berlin, Dessau, Donaueschingen, Tel Aviv and Jerusalem the Zafraan Ensemble commissioned the composers Johannes Schöllhorn and Yoav Pasovsky to write new works. These two composition commissions are being supported by the EvS Music Foundation. With the completion of Schöllhorn’s Sérigraphie Cycle a large arc is spanned that channels the simultaneous beauty and alien ‘otherness’ of his later piano pieces into an entirely new form. Yoav Pasovsky is to produce a complementary work for the planned concert program and the musicians of Zafraan Ensemble are to be intensively involved in the genesis of this work.


September 22, 2017
Kontraklang / Heimathafen Neukölln, Berlin

November 3, 2017
Impuls Festival Sachsen-Anhalt / Stiftung Bauhaus Dessau

February 2018
SWR ars nova / Strawinsky Saal, Donaueschingen

May 2018
Felicja Blumental Music Center, Tel Aviv

May 2018
Jerusalem Music Centre, Jerusalem

Further Information: