Photo: Guy Vivien


La Digitale – The Foxglove: Composition Commission issued to Juan Pablo Carreño

Musicatreize, Marseille, France

The initiative for this project goes back to the conductor Roland Hayrabedian who has long held plans for a musical thriller. Author Sylvain Coher has written stories on three crimes committed at different times yet all inter-related. Each story is set to music by a different composer: the music for Part 1, The Foxglove, is written by Colombian Juan Pablo Carreño, whose composition commission is being supported by the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation. Part 2, The Bittersweet, is being set to music by Greek composer Alexandros Markeas and Part 3, The Star of Bethlehem, comes care of French composer Philippe Schoeller. The three parts are presented as a musical triptych. They are related to each other by three female figures – daughter, mother and grandmother – as well as by three poisonous plants who names give the pieces their titles: Foxglove, Bittersweet Nightshade and Star of Bethlehem.

October 3, 2015
Bouffes du Nord – Festival d'Ile de France, Paris

December 11 – 13, 2015
Opéra de Marseille

December 19, 2015
Conservatoire de Puteaux

December 21, 2015
ECAM Kremlin Bicêtre

Further Information: