ACHT BRÜCKEN 2018 – Composition Commissions

ACHT BRÜCKEN | Musik für Köln – Achtbruecken GmbH, Germany

In March 2018 Bernd Alois Zimmermann, who spent pivotal years of his life in Cologne, would have celebrated his 100th birthday. To mark this occasion the 2018 ACHT BRÜCKEN festival will be held very much in memory of the great composer entitled Metamorphosen. Variationen (Metamorphoses.Variations). To this end numerous new works are to be written: Liza Lim (*1966), Frédéric Pattar (*1969) and Georges Aperghis (*1945) will be writing new works for Florentin Ginot, helping him to sound out the possibilities of his instruments in a solo evening for four (different) double basses on the podium of Cologne Philharmonic.
As a reference to Bernd Alois Zimmerman, as a great arranger, Enno Poppe (*1969) will create an ensemble version of Bernd Alois Zimmermann's Stille und Umkehr. Johannes Schöllhorn (*1962) was commissioned to adapt the piano piece Konfigurationen for large ensemble. Resident in Cologne the composer and Zimmermann pupil York Höller (*1944) will be writing a concerto for viola and orchestra. The concluding concert will bring together two top ensembles – Ensemble Musikfabrik and Concerto Köln. In addition to the repeat performance of Martin Smolka’s (*1959) Semplice for both ensembles, these bodies of musicians will perform two premieres: a new work by Hector Parra (*1976) relating to Pasolini’s Orgia and a concerto for clarinet and ensemble by Marton Matalon (*1958). This means the concert program will include three different contemporary composition perspectives from France/Argentina, the Czech Republic and Catalonia, each making a decided reference to the festival theme. The EvS Music Foundation is supporting the composition commissions.

May 2, 6 and 11, 2018
Kölner Philharmonie

May 1 and 6, 2018
Klaus-von-Bismarck Saal, Cologne

Further Information: