Composition Commission issued to Filippo Perocco

Istituzione Teatro Lirico Sperimentale di Spoleto "A. Belli", Spoleto, Italy


As part of the Opera Nova© project every year the Teatro Lirico Sperimentale commissions a young, up-and-coming composer with the composition of a new opera. This year the composer chosen was Filippo Perocco, winner of the acclaimed Abbiati Award. Perocco’s new operatic work for ten instrumentalists and two voices supported by the EvS Music Foundation explores the topic of  "earthquakes". However, this is not about the natural phenomenon but instead the effect of the fragmentation and dissipation the event produces. Words tremble in the face of this force of nature. The topic was chosen as the region of Umbria, where the Teatro Lirico Sperimentale is located, is one of Italy’s regions affected by earthquakes. The population lives here under constant threat.

The libretto was written by acclaimed Italian author Melania Mazzucco assuming a task like this for the first time. She is personally affected by the topic as her parents’ house collapsed in the earthquake of 2016.

The aim of the project is, on the one hand, to promote the spread of New Music and, on the other, to support young composers experimenting in the field of New Music and, in particular, musical theater.


September 7–9, 2018
Teatro Caio Melisso, Spoleto, Italy

September 28 & 30, 2018
Teatro della Cavallerizza, Reggio Emilia, Italy


Further information: