Four Composition Commissions

via nova – zeitgenössische Musik in Thüringen e. V., Germany

The Weimar Spring Festival (Weimarer Frühjahrstage) is an international festival for New Music featuring chamber music and orchestral concerts, workshops, lectures and performances. The 5-day festival will focus on two international composition competitions. In 2019 the festival celebrates its 20th anniversary with ensembles, soloists and composers from Uzbekistan, Switzerland, Korea and Germany. Some of the former prizewinners from the last 20 years – such as Gordon Kampe, Erik Janson, Gianluca Castelli, Lina Tonia, Ilias Rachaniotis, Peter Köszeghy, Susanne Stelzenbach, Rei Munakata, Helmut Zapf, Timo Ruttkamp, Stylianos Dimou, Cecile Marti and Ludger Kisters – form focal points of the 2019 program, a number of whom will be writing new works. The EvS Music Foundation will be supporting the composition commissions issued to Gordon Kampe, Charlotte Seither, Johannes HP Platz and Helmut Zapf.

Always a highlight of the Weimar Spring Festival are the final concerts of the two composition competitions for chamber music and orchestra. Composers from all over the world participate in these competitions. The finalists selected by the annually changing jury are given the opportunity to be in Weimar during the festival week and present their compositions with the competition ensembles – the NeoQuartet from Gdansk for the chamber music competition and the Jena Philharmonic Orchestra for the orchestra competition. Also performing this year are the Ensemble Omnibus from Uzbekistan, the Weimar ensembles via nova and experimental ensemble MIET+.

April 24–28, 2019
Various locations in Weimar, Germany

Further Information: