Photo: Manu Theobald


MUHR#02: Composition Commission issued to Luis Codera Puzo

Ensemble New Babylon GbR, Bremen, Germany


MUHR#02 is the title of the one-hour concert for three pianos and modular synthesizers composed by Luis Codera Puzo from Barcelona to be premiered by Ensemble New Babylon Bremen. The work is being supported by the EvS Music Foundation and is based on the presentation and development of different, relatively static sound masses.

2016 and 2017 saw Luis Codera Puzo organize and conduct several presentations with drone music for percussion, keyboards, samplers and modular synthesizers. Under the heading WE ARE drONE the presentations were carried out using various tonal parameters that the conductor modified during the performance. The score was one reference point. The series featuring the MUHR pieces goes one step further, basing itself on the experience of the WE ARE drONE presentations: a crystallization and a development of this kind of work, but with a broader use of the score aimed at bringing about a more detailed and more specific profile for musical genesis. Each piece in the MUHR series is designed in connection with an already existing piece of work. MUHR#02 will be presented after the performance of Vers la flame for piano solo by Alexander Scriabin. The concert is an experience with an imposing mass of sound, a static and categorical wall of the sound completed at the same time by individual and varied textures displaying an inner and unwavering dynamism.

The aim of the MUHR#02 project is to present a performance featuring a long, commissioned piece and a coherent program to give the listener a full and varied experience. At the same time, it gives rise to new musical literature for fresh and unusual instrumentation.


June, 25 & 26, 2019
Schwankhalle Bremen, Germany

June 12, 2019
Elbphilharmonie, Hamburg, Germay


Further information: