Milano Musica: LUCA FRANCESCONI. The Dark Note

Milano Musica - Associazione per la musica contemporanea, Milan, Italy

The 28th edition of Milano Musica is centered around the work and artistic personality of Italian composer Luca Francesconi.
The festival presents five world premieres and three Italian premieres, as well as about 40 works and a performance of Francesconi’s masterpiece Quartett based on a play by Heiner Müller and commissioned by the Teatro alla Scala, premiered in 2011.
As every year it is one of the festivals main ojectives to gather some of the world’s best conductors and soloists specialized in contemporary music. In 2019 among them are the conductor Juraj Valčuha with the pianists Emanuele Arciuli and Andrea Rebaudengo, performing Macchine in echo by Luca Francesconi with the OSN Rai; the American conductor Brad Lubman who debuts at the Teatro alla Scala with the soloist Leila Josefowicz performing Duende. The Dark Notes, concert for violin and orchestra by Francesconi; the English soprano Juliet Fraser and the American cellist Jay Campbell. In addition, the Orchestra of the Milan Conservatory G. Verdi under the baton of Pedro Amaral is invited to present Stockhausen’s masterpiece Hymnen Stockhausen. The festival presents outstanding ensembles like Jack Quartet and the historic French ensemble Les Percussions de Strasbourg, performing Persephassa 'by Iannis Xenakis for six percussionists around the audience. In addition to the works of Luca Francesconi the festival presents two commissioned works from Claudio Ambrosini and Carmine Emanuele Cella for percussions and electronics.

October 27 and November 11, 2019
Teatro alla Scala, Milan

October 3 and 6, 2019
Auditorium di Milan

October 20, 2019
Conservatorio Giuseppe Verdi di Milano Sala Verdi

Further information: