Prize Ceremony

On 2 June 2022, the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation awarded the Ernst von Siemens Music Prize 2022 to Olga Neuwirth at the Prinzregententheater in Munich. The composer prizes were awarded to Benjamin Attahir, Naomi Pinnock and Mikel Urquiza, the ensemble prizes to the Explore Ensemble and Spółdzielnia Muzyczna.

Annekatrin Hentschel hosted the ceremony live from the Prinzregententheater in Munich from 8 pm. Thanks to a cooperation with BR-KLASSIK, the livestream was broadcasted on  and

Here you can take a look at the programme book!


Olga Neuwirth
coronAtion IV: whoever brought me here (2020) 
dished up for 1–3 percussionists and sample 
Robyn Schulkowsky and Lucas Niggli, percussion
Composition commissioned by the City of Munich for the Munich Biennale, 
financed by the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation
Olga Neuwirth
coronAtion II: Naufraghi del mondo che hanno ancora un cuore – 
cinque isole della fatica
Sophie Cherrier, flute, Jérôme Comte, clarinet, Catherine Jacquet, 
violin, Odile Auboin, viola, Hidéki Nagano, piano

Word of welcome
Peter Ruzicka 
Chairman of the Board of Supervisors of the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation 

Portrait films Composers' Prize Winners
by Friedrich Rackwitz and Stephan Vorbrugg

Thomas Angyan
Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation 
in a conversation with Annekatrin Hentschel

Presentation of the Composers‘ Prizes 
and Ensemble Prizes

Olga Neuwirth
Hooloomooloo (1996/1997)
for ensemble in three groups and CD 
Ensemble intercontemporain, Matthias Pintscher

Laudatory Speech for Olga Neuwirth 
by Raphaela Edelbauer 
Presentation of the Ernst von Siemens Music Prize 2022 
to Olga Neuwirth 

Olga Neuwirth
5 Songs from Hommage à Klaus Nomi (1998/2008) 
Songs for countertenor and small ensemble 
compiled and arranged by Olga Neuwirth 
So simple | Last Dance | Awake from Winter | My Time | The Witch 
Ensemble intercontemporain, Andrew Watts, countertenor,  
Matthias Pintscher, conductor