Image: Distractfold


The New Unusual – Eleven Composition Commissions

Distractfold, Huddersfield, United Kingdom

Distractfold Ensemble is issuing eleven composition commissions in response to the on-going COVID-19-crisis entitled The New Unusual. The international composers Sivan Cohen Elias, Santiago Diez Fischer, Lee Fraser, Andrew Greenwald, Hanna Hartman, Anna Korsun, Giulia Lorusso, Sam Salem, Donal Sarsfield, Steven Takasugi and Ute Wasserman are writing solo works for the ensemble members which will be premiered online and published on Distractfold’s website and social media. The New Unusual builds on Conversations from Quarantine, the podcast produced by Distractfold since March. The conversations and interviews with ensemble members, composers and artists contextualize the commissioned works and give them a framework. The Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation is facilitating the ensemble’s composition commissions.

Further Information: