Photo: Stafanie Loos


Award Ceremony: Ernst von Siemens Music Prize to Tabea Zimmermann

Video on demand!

On June 15, 2021, 7.30 pm the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation awarded the Ernst von Siemens Music Prize 2020 to Tabea Zimmermann in a digital award ceremony.

The laudatory speech was given by former President of the German Bundestag and Chairman of the Konrad-Adenauer-Foundation, Norbert Lammert. The Hamburg-based Ensemble Resonanz performed Migrants – Aria (2020) by Georges Aperghis and Lachrymae (1948, orch. 1976) by Benjamin Britten, with Tabea Zimmermann. In addition, the program included Naturale by Luciano Berio, a composition for viola, percussion, and tape, with percussionist Christoph Sietzen.

Teresa Vogl hosted the ceremony, that was broadcased live from Munich's Prinzregententheater at and



The laudation will be given by Norbert Lammert,
former President of the German Bundestag.

Luciano Berio
Naturale (via Sicilian Melodies) (1985)
for viola, percussion, and tape
Tabea Zimmermann and Christoph Sietzen

Georges Aperghis
Migrants – Aria (2020)
4th movement of Migrants for viola, 3 percussions, and strings
Tabea Zimmermann and Ensemble Resonanz, conducted by Emilio Pomàrico

Benjamin Britten
Lachrymae op. 48a (1948, orch. 1976)
for viola and string orchestra
Tabea Zimmermann and Ensemble Resonanz