Photo: Sammy Hart


Komponsitionsaufträge an Johannes Maria Staud und Bent Sørensen

Munich Chamber Orchestra, Germany

The Munich Chamber Orchestra (MCO) is giving commissions to Johannes Maria Staud und Bent Sørensen with the support of the EvS Music Foundation. Johannes Maria Staud was given an EvS Music Foundation Composer Prize in 2004. His compositions have been performed in the past few years by ensembles including the Berlin Philharmonic under Sir Simon Rattle and Ensemble Moderne. He has also received commissions from the Vienna Philharmonic, the Cleveland Orchestra as well as Ensemble Moderne. Staud has now been given a commission for a 20-minute work for string orchestra with two to three additional instruments of his choice.
Additionally, the MCO has commissioned the Danish composer Bent Sørensen to arrange his 1993/4 string quartet Schreie und Melancholie, originally written for the Arditti Quartet, for string orchestra. In the mid-80s, this student of the exceptionally talented Danish composer Per Nørgard, who won the 2016 EvS Music Prize, and Ib Nørhom was considered to be one of the most original and technically developed talents of his generation. Just a few years ago, Gramaphone described Sørensen’s music as “exquisite in structure and tone”, “fevourish in its insights, and almost elemental in its effect” (WAS SIND DIE ORIGINAL ZITATE?)
Through its commissions, the Munich Chamber Orchestra would like to continue and intensify its programme in terms of works from living composers. On the one hand, this aims to extend the repertoire of contemporary music for string and chamber orchestra; on the other, it hopes to develop a sustained audience appreciation for New Music in both Munich as well as in its tour locations.

25th Mai 2019
Pinakothek der Moderne, Munich, Germany

17th Oktober 2019
Prinzregententheater, Munich, Germany

24th Oktober 2019
Kasseler Musiktage, Germany

Further information: