Awards Ceremony 2012

The Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation honours Friedrich Cerha with the Ernst von Siemens Music Prize, often called the “Nobel Prize for Music”. Cerha will receive the prestigious award from the president of the Bavarian Academy of Sciences and Humanities, Dieter Borchmeyer, at a musical ceremony in Munich in the Cuvilliés Theatre on 22 June 2012. The music editor of the Neue Zürcher Zeitung, Peter Hagmann will give a speech in the prize-winner’s honour. The Ensemble Modern will perform Cerha’s work Bruchstück, geträumt under the composer’s direction. The Ensemble Modern will also perform works by the prize winners of the Composers’ Prizes Luke Bedford, Zeynep Gedizlioglu and Ulrich Alexander Kreppein.