Composer Portraits Zorn, Paredes, Aperghis

Miller Theatre at Columbia University, New York, USA

With the support of the EvS Music Foundation the 2010/2011 concert season sees the Miller Theatre organize a series of portrait concerts presenting seven contemporary composers including Matthias Pintscher, Pierre Boulez, Fred Lehrdal and Chaya Czernowin. The seven composers will develop their works with the relevant ensembles - including the Talea Ensemble, the Daedalus Quartet and the Ensemble Either/Or - and will be available for discussion with the audience before and after the concerts. In addition to the debut performance of a Fred Lehrdal cello concert by Finnish cellist Anssi Karttunnen there will also be American premieres, for instance, of Sonic Eclipseby Matthias Pintscher or, marking his 85th birthday, Pierre Boulez’s Dérive. The Miller Theater also offers program introductions to the concert evenings especially written by musicologist Paul Griffith as free downloads already two weeks ahead of the concerts. 

2010/2011 Concert Season
Miller Theatre, New York, USA

Further Information: